September 23, 2020


Yesterday, hundreds of commercial real estate professionals tuned in for the first annual IREJ Real Estate Awards. The event also honored the career of Jim McShane with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Yesterday, hundreds of commercial real estate professionalstuned in for the first annual IREJ Real Estate Awards. The event also honoredthe career of Jim McShane with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Independent judges sifted through the masses of nominationsfor companies, individuals, and projects. This year’s judges included ColleteEnglish Dixon, executive director of the Marshall Bennett Institute of RealEstate at Roosevelt University; Manny Flores, president and CEO of SomerCor;Jack George, partner at Akerman LLP and Goldie B. Wolfe Miller, president ofMillbrook Corporate Real Estate Services and founder of the Goldie Initiative.

Among the corporate awards, Eastlake Studio won ArchitectureFirm of the Year, Colliers International Chicago won Brokerage Firm of the Yearand the Village of Schaumburg won Municipality of the Year. The Developer ofthe Year award went to Chicago Neighborhood Initiatives with BEAR ConstructionCompany winning General Contractor of the Year.

Three transactions from the past year were highlighted asthe most significant in the Chicago market. The winners in this category wereBridge Development Partners for Bridge Point Franklin Park in the Industrialsector, Interra Realty for Shorewind Towers in the Multifamily sector and amongretail transactions the standout was CONLON Commercial’s deal for 2121 N.Clybourn.

A number of awards were given out to individual developmentsfrom the past year. Winners included OSO Apartments for Affordable Housing, NorthPointAvenue O in the Industrial / Manufacturing / Science category, andCareerBuilder in the Interior Design – Office / Industrial category. Amongmultifamily projects, 727 West Madison came out on top with 110 North Wackerwinning in the Office category. The Draper won Interior Design – Housing,Hospitality, Restaurants and Retail, the Old Chicago Post Office won in theRedevelopment / Reuse / Historic category and for Retail / Restaurant thewinner was Starbucks Reserve Roastery.

In addition to the Lifetime Achievement Award given to JimMcShane—during the acceptance of which he announced his retirement and theelevation of Molly McShane to CEO of The McShane Companies—there were severalindividual awards.

The Broker of the Year award went to Brian Kling of ColliersInternational, the Emerging Leader of the Year award went to David Michael ofPeak Construction, Lori Olson of Zeller was awarded the Property Manager of theYear and the Real Estate Lawyer of the Year award went to Linsey Cohen of Gould& Ratner LLP. Christina Brown of Eastlake Studio won Woman of the Year andthe prestigious Executive of the Year award went to David Schwartz of Waterton.

Did you miss the awards show? The full broadcast isavailable right now on our YouTube channel. Each of these individuals,companies and projects beat out a field of very worthy finalists.Congratulations to all and good luck at next year’s awards.

Our Office
1020 W Lawrence Ave
Suite 300
Chicago, IL 60640
© Cedar St. Companies 2023. All rights reserved.